Lessons from The War Room

The devil wants us to target everything (especially ourselves) and anything EXCEPT TARGET HIM.

PRAYER HITS him WHERE IT HURTS.

The real enemy is not our boss, fake-friends, people that talk about us, the bank that wants to take away our home or the people that mistreat and abuse us.

The real enemy is the one whose sole mission is to seek, destroy and kill everything you touch, everything you desire and dream of having, no matter how large or small.

The real enemy is the devil.

Today, I finally watched the Kendrick Brothers’ War Room after being recommended to watch it earlier this month. I had never heard of the film before the month of May.

The film explores the divine power of prayer within the ‘ordinary’ lives of a family. War Room is evidence that Christians can make films even better than ‘Hollywood’. This film brings me to part two of my series: The Secret the devil Does Not Want You To Believe.

More nefarious than lord Voldemort, the devil is cunning, sinister and annoying.

he will never just ‘leave’ you alone. Even when things seem to be progressing and the crises are over, he is always plotting and scheming for your downfall.

However, do not concern yourself with for his villainous characteristics.

Your responsibility and mine, it to know how he operates, not become more fearful of his abilities. You need to learn to fight and rebuke the devil before his lies reaches your ears, mind and heart.

So how do you fight?

In war, you need to know what ‘your up against’, meaning that you need to know your enemy including their methods of attack.

God tells us that He desires us to be able to stand firm against the enemy’s strategies, which in turn tells us that the devil has several strategies of attack. If he has plural strategies that means he is persistent.

Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.

Ephesian 6: 11 NLT

So we know that the devil is a master strategist and persistent

War Room, only tells us what we, what I, already know: prayer drives the devil back to hell.

If our enemy is persistent that means we need to be persistent.

Persistence is a big word that is ministering to my life at the moment after having ‘completed’ a 40-day Daniel fast that I struggled with midway through. I spent the final week eating meat and being nonchalant about it. I was tired of the fast. I was tired of not being able to do what I wanted; to eat what I wanted and deny myself ’simple pleasures’.

After 40 days of stubbornness and disobedience, developed apathy towards prayer, reading the Word and people, I was not driving anything back to anywhere.

But God’s Grace is ……. unnatural.

Who gives mercy time and time again when the recipient is so undeserving.

The devil has attacked my mind many times in the past that I now I know it is his favourite line of attack. In that sense, my mind could be considered my ‘weak spot’.

But just like, Miss Clara (Karen Abercrombie), I know that the time to fight back is now!

Now, what are you going to use to fight?

My weak spot is how I am fighting the devil.

I was able to pray today with belief in my spirit that God is fighting for me despite my faults.

By opening my heart to God with conviction and sincerity, prayer allows me to ask God for help.

God is renewing my weak spot with strength.

The devil may whisper that I am only seeking God as a short-term fix to long-term issues as he has done repeatedly in the past. But I know my relationship with God is not contingent on seeking protection from the devil. Neither is my faith a means to hide from the devil and his “fiery arrows” (Ephesians 6: 16).

That is not to say that the restored desire to seek God and depend on Him, now means that the devil will retire from is scheming. In fact the Word says “many are the afflictions of the righteous but the LORD delivers them from all” Psalms 34:19.

The devil will try to plant seeds of doubt, fear, division and contention towards God, condemnation, confusion (etc) in your mind and heart.

For some of us, it appears that he is winning, and his seeds are bearing fruit. But remember this that even satan is under your authority.

God’s Word tells us “rebuke the devil and he will flee” (James 4:7).

You can rebuke him in prayer. In prayer that is filled with the Word of God. Even if you cannot remember scriptures, you can read as many scriptures as you want out loud and use them to form a prayer to God.

If you are struggling to pray, simply ask God with an expectation for the Grace to pray.

If your heart is hardened towards God or it is looking that way, do not believe that there is no hope for you.

From my experience in these past couple weeks, I have come to believe that God’s Grace  is accessible to us by even participating in physical posturing. Even in my laziness, hopelessness and faithlessness, I postured myself physically as someone who knows that ultimately God is God. Although, I would get on my knees with no interest in praying longer than 3 minutes, I did something rather than nothing.

“But I rebuke the devil and he doesn’t flee”

Why would God in His Word tell us to rebuke the devil for it not to work and for us to fail?

That would be like sending soldiers to the battlefield without helmets.

6 But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:
“God opposes the proud
    but shows favor to the humble.”
7 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.
8 Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.
James 4: 6-8 NIV

The verses surrounding that well-known scripture, speak of important virtues: humility, submission, seeking God, purifying your hearts and affirming your trust in God only.

We must adhere to all of these principles as they are part of the powerful cocktail needed to rebuke the devil successfully.

God does not give empty instructions. Sometimes, we can be like dead batteries: a great source of power but not fulfilling our purpose.

I felt ‘drained’ by everything; even the idea of having to fight with faith, concerning my current circumstances, appeared to be too much.

The Holy Spirit fills us with power to fulfil our purpose. We engage with the Holy Spirit through prayer.

God relates to us in love: His eternal love for us.

Jesus relates to us through grace: His death and resurrection for our sins

The Holy Spirit relates to us through fellowship: it takes two to tango

We do not have to work for God’s love or the grace of Jesus. But we must partner with the Holy Spirit: one partner can make all the effort if the other will not.

The Holy Spirit pushes us to pray and we must head His promptings.

He knows the value of prayer as a means of fighting the enemy and getting closer to God.

And that brings me to today.

I did not want to pray this morning and yet, by mid-morning I was watching the War Room.

A movie about praying.

God is funny lol

Lessons learned from the War Room:

  • Just because the devil is invisible does not mean he is fictional
  • There is power in these words: ’IN THE NAME OF JESUS’
  • The power of prayer
  • No one deserves God’s grace more than anyone else.
  • Get rid of any distractions instead focus my heart and mind of God,
  • It is not my job to worry.

If there are areas in your life that seem hopeless, do not overwhelm yourself by worrying about the why, how God will fix it or how little / how much you are doing in the process.

  • Our job is to SEEK GOD, TRUST HIM & STAND ON HIS WORD

So thank you God for leading me to watch this film and for using the Kendrick brothers to bring Your Word into the homes of people around the world.

I have only just started watching faith-based films and although in some films the acting has been questionable, their spiritual value cannot be denied.  I had not even watched half of the War Room before I started taking notes and connecting it’s messages to my own circumstances.

I learn valuable teachings from faith-based movies. Such a takeaway is unmatched compared to movies about fictional superheroes. Faith-based movies provide me another perspective about the real hero of my life: God.

My favourite scene:

Unlike the main character of War Room, I am not going through a turbulent marriage, in fact I am not married. But I need prayer. Before, this movie I needed to reminded of the power and authority I have in Jesus Christ, which is exercised in prayer. I needed to be reminded that though I do not have physical arsenal at my disposal, I have a mightier one: prayer.

The only way to fight a spiritual being that is the devil is to fight with spiritual weapons like prayer.

Today, I am reminded in my spirit today that in Christ Jesus, I can and will overthrow the devil’s access to my mind, emotions and outlook on life.

It is nice to be entertained when watching a film, but even better when it edifies your spirit and ministers to your circumstances…. at the same time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

