The Secret the devil Does Not Want You To Believe

The devil spends majority of his time and your lifetime trying to establish himself as a powerful entity and you as a being subject to the whims of his desires.

Today, I want us all to walk away from this post knowing just one thing;

JESUS said “Rebuke him (the devil) and he shall flee!”

Immediately, Jesus affirms to every follower, every believer and every soul that reads those words, that we are more powerful than the devil.

It is he that is subject to our whims. This authority only comes from God, as His child and we become a child by accepting His Son. It is this very same Son who is right now telling us that we are more powerful than the devil to the extent that when we rebuke him, he has no choice but to flee.

We need to believe in these instructions.

First, we need to believe in Jesus’s authority to declare these Words as truth.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

John 14:6 NIV

You and I cannot and will not enter the Kingdom of God unless we accept Jesus Christ as our Personal Saviour and, that He died for our sins and rose again to ascend to Heaven, where He sits at the right hand of God.

This may sound like a treatment for a blockbuster movie but it is not. It is the truth that all Christians must believe.

I am more powerful than the devil.

You are more powerful than the devil.

I used to be afraid of the menacing tone the devil’s name seemingly evokes. Maybe it is the enunciation of ‘vil’ or the emphasis of ‘ssss’ in satan, which sounds more a conniving hiss of a snake.

But we should not be afraid of even his name.

If until today, you have let the devil run rampant in your life and thoughts, tell him as from today “you are under my feet and not the other way round!”

That is the secret he does not want you to know or even worse, believe: you are more powerful and stronger than him

This is a secret BUT it is not a secret.

What I mean by this is that millions of people including Christians around the world do not believe in, walk in or partake in this truth. Our actions in rough times or when we are going through trials do not show that we engage with what Jesus tells us; when we rebuke the devil, he must flee.

We are told this at church on Sunday, during bible study and, we even sing it loudly during praise and worship. We read it in the Word of God. Jesus, Himself has told us, time and time again.

Yet, we often do not believe that we are more powerful than satan.

The devil does not have dominion or power to control your life unless you give it to him.

Job is a perfect example of someone who was tried and tested through the fire that the devil lit for him.

Job:

  • Children were crushed to death
  • Lost all his wealth
  • Poor
  • Poor health: broke out in painful boils
  • Insomnia: too tormented to sleep
  • Lonely

By the time the devil was done with Job, he was alone with a nagging wife, fatherless, and penniless.

Yes, like with Job, the devil can create obstacles, many and great obstacles, but he cannot control you. He cannot control your reaction or decisions towards such obstacles. Only you are in control of that and allowing yourself to get lost in despair transfers power to the enemy.

Now, I would not want anyone to go through all of which Job experienced in order to see if what I am saying is true or not.

Yes, Job did become lost in his despair and many of us would not blame him, yet with all his pain, anger and frustration, Job never denounced God. He did not relinquish control to satan. The devil wants us to denounce God and forsake following Christ forever. Many people give up on following Christ or seeking a relationship with God because of how much the devil has contended with them.

God does not promise that we will not experience trials and tribulations. God guarantees that:

A. He will deliver us from all afflictions

“Many are the afflictions of the righteous,
But the Lord delivers him out of them all.”

Psalms 34:18-19 NKJV

B. Nothing will harm us.

Let Jesus, Himself tell you.

Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

 Luke 10:19 NKJV

We have been given power and the ability to trample upon serpents and scorpions AND over ALL power of the enemy.

Yet, as I type that scripture I think of the times that I have felt hurt.

When I have had no money to get back home. When I have been rejected from jobs that in faith I declared as mine. When I have been dumped. When I have felt frustrated at my own failures or ‘powerlessness’ and incapabilities. When I have been let down by friends and family members. When I have let myself down.

And I think to myself so how is it that all these things will not hurt me when they have hurt me in one way or another, and even those around me?

End of Part 1

(Look out for part 2 when I will be digging more into this)

Leave a Reply

