Lost In The Wait

People are looking for Jesus.

They just don’t know it….

Yet.

Majority of people are unaware that they are looking for Jesus and so fill the void with things of this world that they can see, touch and feel: the more physical evidence of its existence, the more they trust in its authority.

I was once a ‘void-filler’ despite growing up in a Church and having periods where I would love reading my Bible.

I was yearning for a Father who would never leave me and give me a love that I could trust even if I had no one else.

The world for so many years seemed so attractive to me.

It gave me permission and handed me the resources to indulge in me.

To love on me, in the absence of a Father.

So I went where the world took me.

It taught me to love me by:

  • drinking to take the edge off life’s worries;
  • clubbing to let loose by dancing and drinking until I forgot about my life beyond the bouncers;
  • seeking relationships to validate my potential of being wanted and to secure happiness;
  • initiating sex to imitate real intimacy

Being part of the world meant that I did not have to censor my words as I did in the Church, instead I could talk like everyone else and use every word in the dictionary, including the worst swear words. I thought being able to speak freely equated to using profanity every 5 sentences and to use caution was infringing on my freedom of speech.

I exchanged sexual intimacy for my yearning of an unbreakable love bond where rejection was not even on the table. I tried to recreate the intimacy that I was yearning for in the only way the world taught me – through sex.

In today’s visual culture, sex is taught and projected as the answer to everything – improving relationships, providing the most stimulating form of entertainment, the key ingredient in a successful rap song and more….

For me, it provided the answer to how to cement and maintain someone’s interest in me. With each partner, sex was the preferred currency and I was certain it would insure that the relationship would last way past it’s expiration date.

I did not know all this at the time but upon reflection, I can honestly say a part of me did. I just did not want to engage with the horrible truth and I certainly was not sensitive to the Spirit at all.

Fill the void’ is a popular phrase that people say including those who turn to Christ and unbelievers who don’t.

People so much want to be told mysteries about themselves. They want to know that there is a definite possibility that they can be more than what they are now.

That greatness is on the cards.

Popular areas we want mysteries to be revealed in are love, career, family, relationships, wealth and even spiritual.

Here we present ourselves as unsure of whom we are.

Deep down, each of us has a pretty good idea of who think we are but there is still a niggling element of uncertainty that gives us hope that we could be someone completely different or better in 1, 5, 10 years’ time.

This uncertainty becomes the fuel that drives people to consult in horoscopes, tarot card readings, psychics and even religious subjects.

People are desperately looking to increase their chances of making possibilities realities.

Even in Christianity we look to prophets, pastors or anyone who looks like they have a better one-on-one relationship with God than we do, which is then reinforced by their title, to tell us what God thinks of us.

I am not bashing prophets of God.

Because God, Himself declared that He would send the Ultimate Prophet to you and I, even before the New Testament.

“I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their fellow Israelites, and I will put my words in His mouth. He will tell them everything I command Him.”

I myself will call to account anyone who does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in My Name.”

Deuteronomy 18: 18 -19 NIV

God did more that just put His Words in that of Jesus’ mouth, in that Jesus is God’s Word.

What does that mean?

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

He was in the beginning with God.

All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.

In Him was life and the life was the light of men. And the light shines in the darkness and the darkness did not comprehend it.

John 1: 1-5 NKJV

Jesus is God’s Word, His actions, the actual words that came from His mouth, His personality etc are God’s Word coming to life. Coming to life for us to relate too. We just need to look to Jesus to see what God’s Word is illustrating, to understand what Christianity is all about.

So a prophet of God speaks everything that God tells him to say. He is a speakerphone for God.

We also find God’s Words in Scripture. It tells us of His nature, He has placed His Word above His Name as God and so it is even more sovereign and divine.

I will worship toward Your holy temple,

And praise Your Name

For Your lovingkindness and Your truth;

For You have magnified Your Word above all Your Name.

Psalms 138: 2 NKJV

Therefore, a prophet’s Word must emulate the sovereignty of God, be in line with His Nature as well actually declare the message God wants us to hear.

Yet, Prophets of God don’t just have all the fun. God declares you and I as Priests, with Jesus, our Saviour being the High Priest.

“But YOU are a CHOSEN GENERATION, a ROYAL PRIESTHOOD, a HOLY NATION,

His OWN SPECIAL PEOPLE, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvellous light; who once were not a people but are now the people of God, who had not obtained mercy but now have obtained mercy”

1ST Peter 2:9 NKJV

And just as I said earlier people are looking to know deeper mysteries of who they are, the Bible shares this mystery, which speaks to the greatness we yearn for.

You are a ROYALTY.

Especially handpicked by God, given royal titles, royal purposes and royal access to the Kingdom through the shed blood of Jesus, the Son of God.

Just as there are prophets of God, there are also false prophets who are not of God.

God is not naïve to this and the Bible talks about the dangers of false prophets. God addresses false prophets also in Deuteronomy 18 as He tells us of the coming of Jesus. The immediacy of God’s warning after the revelation of Jesus’ coming, answers to the importance of who we put our trust in to give us God’s messages. God warns false prophets and gives us guidance on how to determine their nature.

The Warning

“But a prophet who presumes to speak in my name anything I have not commanded or a prophet who speaks in the name of other gods, is to be put to death”

Deuteronomy 18: 20 NIV

The Guidance

You may say to yourselves, “How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD?

“If what a prophet proclaims in the name of the LORD does not take place or come true, that is a message the LORD has not spoken. That prophet has spoken presumptuously, so do not be alarmed.”

Deuteronomy 18: 21-22 NIV

So waiting for a prophecy to come to pass can seem like the ultimate waiting game. But it does not have be, in fact just waiting for a prophesy to come to pass does not show spiritual maturity or attempts to be more spiritual mature.

What does waiting for God look like?

Waiting is a verb.

It is action.

(Teachers really do deserve more credit)

Waiting on God, requires action from you!

Now it does not mean masterminding or assuming the role of master puppeteer to control and manipulate events to make the prophecy a reality.

time-1594638_1920

Here your putting more trust in yourself than in God.

Your actions are saying ‘God does not have my back’. Your actions are saying that ‘I am not 100% sure if God wants the best for me’.

Waiting on God is an opportunity for you to be active – actively stretch your faith, build your trust in Him, study in the Word, increase your quiet time with Him, seek Him in prayer etc

You are actively using God’s Word and weapons of warfare like prayer to grow in Him while you wait.

But this is not just limited to your spiritual journey but also in every area because the principles of God should not be confined only to your spiritual ‘life’.

Spiritual life suggests a separation and that your life is compartmentalised.

Whereas, God wants to be in every area of your life. You cannot box Him in to certain hours of your day or to a certain day of the week – like errmm Sunday lol

So now we have the task of being active in all areas.

i.e. Are you actively researching, keeping up to date on the industry or studying up on the knowledge pertaining to that particular job you are waiting on God to provide you with?

Are you taking any courses in that field?

No money? Try Google

No Internet? Try your local library.

No library? Get a book.

Books costs money & there is no library? I cannot help you there. Pray 😄

Either way it all leads back to God, you will need to depend on Him to give you the desire to even take action. To get you out of bed; to get you to keep clocking into the job you hate whilst you wait on the perfect one He has in store for you; to give you divine wisdom to understand just what the textbooks are saying.

And after you get the position, you need to depend on God to help you apply everything you have learnt within a practical environment where unexpected surprises are not covered in the textbook or when colleagues dislike you.

All these scenarios require God at every step: when you need the blessing and EVEN MORE after you get it.

Waiting on God looks like believing God’s Promises, obeying His Commands and gaining understanding of His Messages in His Word.

I used to believe more in what someone who (like I said earlier) had a better relationship with God than I did, more than what God was telling me in His Word.

This was wrong because when we read the Word we should expect to encounter Jesus, as we know He is the living Word.

This is why I am writing this post because God will defiantly use people to speak forth His messages or confirm a word to us. But we must not rely on the man that God is using as His speakerphone because of our uncertainty on what God has planned for us or if He does have anything planned for us.

But do not believe that God just handpicked you to keep you on a shelf. That is exactly what the devil wants people who have even accepted Jesus as their Saviour to believe. The devil is looking to attack you at each level as you grow in spiritual maturity and your love for God and His Commandments.

If you are uncertain on what someone has told, ask God to confirm it. If you cannot discern anything, then depend to His Word even more.

This scripture confirms everything for me prophecy or not.

God is telling you today:

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD,

thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

 Jeremiah 29: 11 NKJV

(Just because this is a popular scripture does not depreciate its power, validity or truth. There are no daily subscription limits to the number of believers who can use it before it becomes defunct.)

We can rest in 100% on God’s Word and the words of the people God uses should be added bonuses that point us to God and not to our egos, future capabilities or strength without God.

“Therefore, when He had risen from the dead, His disciples remembered that He had said this to them; and they believed the Scripture and the word which Jesus had said”

John 2: 22 NKJV

Jesus’ disciples believed in God’s Word in the Scripture and what Jesus had spoken to them.

“Believe in the LORD your God, and you shall be established; believe His prophets, and you shall prosper”

2nd Chronicles 20:20 NKJV

Believe according to how the Scripture tells you to believe. God placed it higher than His name and God is not a God that should lie so His Word is Truth.

Leave a Reply

