Do It Again

I’ve seen You move, You move the mountains
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again
You made a way, where there was no way
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again

“Do It Again” by Elevation Worship

Walking around these walls
I thought by now they’d fall
But You have never failed me yet
Waiting for change to come
Knowing the battle’s won
For You have never failed me yet

Your promise still stands
Great is Your faithfulness, faithfulness
I’m still in Your hands
This is my confidence, You’ve never failed me yet

I know the night won’t last
Your Word will come to pass
My heart will sing Your praise again
Jesus You’re still enough
Keep me within Your love
My heart will sing Your praise again

Your promise still stands
Great is Your faithfulness, faithfulness
I’m still in Your hands
This is my confidence, You never failed

Your promise still stands
Great is Your faithfulness, faithfulness
I’m still in Your hands
This is my confidence, You never failed me yet

I’ve seen You move, You move the mountains
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again
You made a way, where there was no way
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again

[x3]
I’ll see You do it again

Your promise still stands
Great is Your faithfulness, faithfulness
I’m still in Your hands
This is my confidence, You never failed

Your promise still stands
Great is Your faithfulness, faithfulness
I’m still in Your hands
This is my confidence, You never failed me yet

And You never failed me yet
I never will forget
You never failed me yet
I never will forget

This song just ministers to me. It ministers faith.

As mentioned in the previous post, I was recently rocked by faithlessness, unbelief, the desire to give up, hopelessness…

My despondency towards God may have been a gift from satan but I tied the bow by consciously rejecting and actively resisting God. I rejected the spiritual aides that I knew would bring me back to Him.

Back to the path to recovery.

I know of the power of these spiritual aides because they have brought me to my knees, surrendering it all to Him, in the past.

Worship is one of those aides.

During these past three weeks, I have behaved like a brat and justified such behaviour on the principle that I had expected God to bless me with a career-changing opportunity and He did not.

Before getting the news of my ‘failure’, I was sure things would be looking up for me, positively motivated by the belief that God had confirmed that the position was mine.  But when this was not the case, I felt like a fool, coupled with feelings of pride and embarrassment.

I thought, ‘If that is how it is going to be then forget everything’ and accepted that my years of ‘failure’ were just going to continue.  The rejection felt like a slap in the face after all the time I spent believing for a miracle.

But in all of that, I refused to listen to worship music because I wanted to revel in my misery. I wanted to stay in the mental pit rather than make the effort to climb out, partly based on the fear of getting my hopes up only to be pushed down again.

Yes, the pit felt like a sure place to rest in for a while.

I took comfort in the pit’s qualities –  gloomy yet definite, fixed and unchanging. A space void of hope and faith.

Faith and Hope… I did not even want hear about or see any Instagram posts about these two tenants of God’s Word.

Faith and Hope… these two made me believe that I would receive a good thing by praying in the name of Jesus, fasting and believing in the infinite power of God.

For years, I have lived by the notion that hoping for good (even miraculous things to happen in my life) is much more dangerous and counter intuitive than just living with the expectation of things to get worse or remain the same.

But that is not living.

Definitely, not as God intended.

Maybe such a notion is still festering within me and God wants to deal with that first before anything.

screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-14-46-08

Maybe God wants to deal with my faith in Him.

Maybe He wants me to believe more in Him by accepting His love for me. All this maybe so I that I understand what true spiritual joy is and experience indefinitely in my heart.

A spiritual joy that displaces a desire for a worldly joy that is based on how good my life is by general standards.

I know that I need to seek God’s gift of joy so that when I look at my life, circumstances, failures and setbacks, it is this joy that will transcend everything in order to keep me fighting and feeling whole.

This song pushes me to keep fighting, particularly the words:

I’ve seen You move, You move the mountains
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again
You made a way, where there was no way
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again

I immediately think of the miracles God did for the Israelites especially in the book of Exodus.

As Dr. Dharius Daniels said, “If God is the God of the Exodus, then it means I’m never trapped. There is always a way out”

If I believe that God is the God who brought the enslaved Israelites out of Egypt, then I will never be trapped by my circumstances or anything else.

There is always a way out.

A way out for all of us.

Here is a play-by-play of the spiritual rollercoaster this song put me through where the only way was up  😓.

The words that resonated with my spirit when I first listened to the song:

Walking around these walls
I thought by now they’d fall

Yes, God I thought the walls of defeatist thoughts, faithlessness, struggling would be down by now.

I know the night won’t last
Your Word will come to pass
My heart will sing Your praise again

Immediately the word ‘night’ spoke to my feelings of hopelessness and defeat – my time in the pit

Jesus You’re still enough
Keep me within Your love
My heart will sing Your praise again

Despite my hostile feelings and skewed beliefs, my mouth surrendered to the lyrics ‘Jesus You’re still enough’ and I sang the line with a loud defiance that was unexpected. In that moment my spirit still yielded to the TRUTH that Jesus is God. That God is God.

That He is Sovereign

His name alone encompasses His sovereignty.

From then worshiping God’s sovereignty and surrendering to Him became more important than remaining ‘justifiably’ stuck in the safety of the pit.

I needed to acknowledge His majesty and that He can do as He pleases because He is God. It is for me to worship Him first and foremost no matter what I am feeling or going through, no matter how justified my flesh feels or whether it is ‘natural’ to be angry with God in certain circumstances.

I’ve seen You move, You move the mountains
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again
You made a way, where there was no way
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again

 This hook made me go nuts. The singer Mack Brock, sings it so amazingly … all glory to God for the spiritual healing and passion that flows from this hook.

I had to get up and dance.

Come on folks… those words!

I’ve seen You move, You move the mountains
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again
You made a way, where there was no way
And I believe, I’ll see You do it again

God has literally moved mountains.

Why would He not move the metaphorical mountains in our lives but better yet give us the tools and ability to conquer them in the name of Christ Jesus.

My split decision to stand up and dance was motivated by my remembrance of the works, testimonies and miracles that God has done both in the Bible and in the lives of other people in the 21st century.

And I believe, concerning my life that He will do it again.

Concerning YOUR life….HE WILL DO IT AGAIN.

Leave a Reply

