Slipping and Falling

When you slip and fall down your first instinct is to pick yourself up and brush off any trace of the embarrassing incident.

In regards to the times when we slip up and fall short of the standards that our Heavenly Father set for us, our first instinct, well for me, is to run.

To run from Him.

To avoid Him.

Avoid reading His Word.

Avoid anything that reminds me of God because all His perfectness reminds me of just how imperfect I am.

My slip-ups just remind me of the fact that I have disappointed Him again by choosing my fleshly desires over Him.

…. over the gifts He has given me to help guide me to do what pleases Him within my daily life – His Holy Spirit.

Matthew 26:41

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

NIV

If it were up to the devil, those who are experiencing this similar feeling would always think like this whenever they sinned.

The devil seeks any opportunity to keep us in perpetual bondage.

Avoiding God every time I feel that I have willingly disappointed Him is a perpetual bondage.

However, it is not one that I will be held captive by the devil over.

Why?

Because along my journey with God, I have been introduced to Grace. Believing that you have Grace does not come instantly for every believer; it certainly has not for me and it is something I need to constantly read God’s Word about to edify my spirit.

Grace is Jesus.

And grace is a also a characteristic of God’s glory.

Grace is teaching me that such examples of captivity can be avoided by looking onto Jesus.

Looking to the meaning of His sacrifice at The Cross of Calvary for MY life.

So every time you sin, remind yourself of what Jesus sacrifice at the Cross means for you personally.

You will not be able to understand the true magnitude of His sacrifice, I do not think I will ever will, but as long as we keep looking to His sacrifice, healing, deliverance, joy, peace and grace will forever abound us.

For me right now, Jesus’ sacrifice means that perpetual bondage no longer have a hold over my life, over my thoughts and my actions.

They may feel real but ultimately they have no hold over me because Jesus’ sacrifice at the Cross of Calvary meant that I am not a slave a sin anymore.

Galatians 4:4-7

4 But when the right time came, God sent His Son, born of a woman, subject to the law.

5 God sent Him to buy freedom for us who were slaves to the law, so that He could adopt us as His very own children.

6 And because we are His children, God has sent the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, prompting us to call out, “Abba, Father.”

7 Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child. And since you are His child, God has made you his heir.”

NLT

During the Old Testament, people did not respect the Law as to guide them away from sin, instead they would offer sacrifices for their sins but would go back to sinning, with the belief that the next sacrifice would remove their sins. Therefore, ignorance as to why God created the Law led to people to sin even more out of their own free will (Romans 5:20).

Galatians 4:7 is a timely scripture during this Christmas period as we focus on the birth of Jesus Christ for the joy it brings celebrating the birth of our Saviour.

However, we do not pay as much attention to Jesus’ death.

Personally, I do feel uncomfortable just reading, let alone knowing all the pain Jesus suffered for me. His persecution and the brutalisation of His perfect body for ‘little ol me’, who still sins despite knowing the pain was inflicted on Jesus.

Moreover, knowing Jesus accepted this as God’s Will so that I may receive the gift of having a right relationship with God.

 John 8: 31-36

31 Jesus said to the people who believed in Him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings.

32 And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

33 “But we are descendants of Abraham,” they said. “We have not been slaves to anyone. What do you mean, “You will set be free?”

34 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave of sin.

35 A slave is not a permanent member of the family but a son is a part of the family forever.

36 So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free.

NLT

The truth is that when we accepted Jesus as our SAVIOUR we were set free then!

So even though we struggle with sin, we are actually not slaves to sin. We behave as though we are.

But we are just not walking in the truth that Jesus died for us to have and live for.

Romans 6:18

“And having been set free from sin, you became slaves of righteousness”

NKJV

This scripture is written is the past tense with the understanding that those who have already accepted Jesus as their Saviour, were set free from perpetual bondage, from addictions, from habitual cycles etc.

But we must believe this truth.

In believing, our actions will begin to reflect our faith.

Even if your faith is not built on solid foundation, if it is built on Jesus being your Saviour it is still acceptable before God. In fact that to me is the Ground Zero of faith.

Hebrews 11: 6

“ But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

NKJV

Even if after 10 years of being a Christian, if your faith is not built on the truth that in Christ Jesus, you have been set free from the allure of indulging in the flesh, from addiction, habits etc, then you need to ask God to give you faith that is pleasing on to Him.

Unbelievers – This freedom is yours when you accept Jesus as your Saviour who died for your sins at The Cross of Calvary.

Believers – This freedom was and will always be yours from the second you confessed, believed and still accept Jesus as your Saviour who died for you at The Cross of Calvary.

It is so hard to remember when we have sinned and are going through our routine of avoiding God, that He being an all knowing God, sent Jesus, His only Son, to die for all of our sins, past, present and FUTURE sins.

All of our sins were future sins at the time Jesus died for us because we were not born. Yet even with this knowledge, we struggle with coming to the throne boldly and accept the Grace from God.

The same Grace that Jesus died for us to receive so that we can have a right relationship with God.

Hebrews 4:16

 “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain MERCY and find GRACE to help in time of need”

NKJV

 “Us” refers to you and I.

“Time of need” refers to the times when you need help.

The times you are struggling not to sin.

The times when you have fallen short of what God rightly expects of His children.

In both cases, because of Jesus we can always return to God at His feet.

But we can cut out the middleman:

–       the destructive thoughts that tell you need to wallow in your mistakes just a little longer because God is still disappointed in you and that by not accepting His grace immediately you are somewhat honouring Him.

–       the typical routine of hiding from God to give both Him and yourself time to wrap your minds around the weight of your sin.

The middleman is symbolical of everything the devil wants you to believe and exploits to keep you from dropping to your knees and earnestly calling on your Heavenly Father.

Remember God, Himself says in Isaiah 55:8-9:

8 “For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.

9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

NKJV

God in all His perfection, is understanding of our weaknesses.

Jesus too.

For Hebrews 4:15 says,

“For we do not have a High Priest, who cannot sympathize with our weakness, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.

 NKJV

 Dealing with guilt when you sin

When I knowingly sin, there are times I foresee in the future that I will feel guilt. Yet I still indulge in my fleshly desires.

This is what those of the world do: indulge in sin, look past guilt to catch a fleeting feeling. Continuance indulgence trains people to not even feel guilt at some stage. This is what cuts me up: that when I knowingly sin, I behave like those of the world.

Jesus told his disciples in John 15: 22 that people of the world hate Him because He holds a mirror to their sinful nature. His existence means that there is no excuse from doing wrong because we ‘do not know any better’. Whether you are a believer or unbeliever, we intrinsically know right from wrong. A trait that I believe God installed in every single of His creations, every human being.

John 15: 22

“They would not be guilty if I had not come and spoken to them. But now they have no excuse for their sin.”

NLT

From what Jesus said guilt was not event a factor until He came and spoke what the Will of our Father was for all of His creation.

Why do I feel guilt when I sin or indulge in sin, even after accepting Jesus as my personal Saviour, God as my Heavenly Father and The Holy Spirit as my Helper?

I think it because in those guilt-ridden times I do not feel that I am in the circle of God’ love. I have chosen to step out of His covering to indulge in what I want to do.

Jesus also told His disciples in John 15: 10

“When you obey my commandments you remain in my love, just as I obey My Father’s commandments and remain in His love.

NLT

Now me feeling like I am not in the circle of God’s love every time I sin, I know is not true because His Grace is always covering me even when I do messed up things.

How do I know?

Because I still have life. And with each breath, I still have the opportunity to approach the throne boldly and seek Grace because of the perpetual effects of Jesus’ sacrifice at the Cross.

I am still going to sing this song even in all my imperfectness.

Sing it with me..

I’ve got my mind made up and I won’t turn back

Because I want to see my Jesus someday

I’ve got my mind made up and I won’t turn back

Because I want to see my Jesus someday

Goodbye world, I stay no longer with you

Goodbye pleasures of sin, I stay no longer with you

I’ve made up my mind to go God’s way the rest of my life

I’ve made up my mind to go God’s way the rest of my life

Born, born, born again Thank God, I’m born again

Born, born, born again Thank God, I’m born again

Born of the water, spirit and the blood

Thank God, I’m born again

Born of the water, spirit and the blood

Thank God, I’m born again

Featured image

Leave a Reply

