#HashtagLifestyle

#Mondaymotivation #TuesdayMotivation #wednesdaywisdom #ThursdayThoughts #FridayFeeling all are evidence that people need encouraging more than ever.

Today is Tuesday cue…#TuesdayMotivation

This popular hashtag is an interesting one. The forces behind it (us) use it to motivate followers and strangers from all across the world to never give up…on a Tuesday.

This very Tuesday morning, I posted on Twitter my own #TuesdayMotivation pearls of wisdom hoping to encourage someone, yet I, the encourager need encouragement to motivate me regarding several areas of my life. More recently, I needed a hashtag on Monday to encourage me to get out of this week’s mental slump.

You see what I mean by interesting. This is the case for many people around the world regardless of their disposition, race, background and religion. It is human nature: an inherent quality within all of us to encourage someone regardless of how small or downtrodden we may feel.  A hashtag just encapsulates such this feeling. However, we must be take into consideration the pearls of wisdom we wish to share and not be ignorant to our own issues.

It is like throwing glitter on an open wound

Basically, let’s take our own advice.

I had a very good week last week. I was reading and mediating on scriptures in my Bible. I even followed through with an earlier decision to focus on 1 scripture a week and spend time really getting to understand what God wants me to learn from it by researching and listening to sermons. I was chasing wisdom and felt appeased that I was getting it. More importantly, I genuinely wanted to open my Bible and gain a more in-depth insight on a scripture, even if it was as obvious as Psalm 23 verse 1.

The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want

Hoooowever, this week has started out rocky: I have felt sluggish, falling back into old habits as a way of escaping and as a result I can actually feel myself distancing from God.

Hoooowever, this week has started out rocky: I have felt sluggish, falling back into old habits as a way of escaping and as a result I can actually feel myself distancing from God.

One. I would like to thank God for giving me the wisdom to discern the pattern or cycle of defeat that I have become accustomed to over the years. We cannot fall into patterns, habits or even depression. Our mind makes uncountable micro-decisions facilitated by the transfer of neurotransmitters. We have a role within these decisions. I mean it is your brain. It is easy to be ignorant to the role you play in your own moods, temperaments and actions. We can blame it on others; yes, the obnoxious guy on the train may have deserved an strategic elbow to the chest. But all in all it is down to us how we think, feel and react. I mean that we have the power to overcome such natural inclinations, if we really wanted to. Like swearing.

So I was feeling crappy because my actions, thoughts etc. were not positive or what I perceived a child of God, who is Light with no darkness in Him at all, should be exhibiting.

God is Light and in Him there is no darkness at all

1st John 1:5 (NKJV)

I was going through the motions of questing my salvation every time I sinned or had a bad thought. I believed I was backsliding. (I am talking in the past tense here, but it was not 50 years ago, but rather this morning.)

And 1st John 1:5 was not helping matters. How could I ask, let alone expect God is who purely good, to help little ol’ me who is not?

But then I read Proverbs 4:18 and made a micro-decision to declare out loud that the looming cloud of self-pity and condemnation stops today, a Tuesday.

But the path of the righteous is like the shining sun,

That shines ever brighter unto the perfect day

My understanding of the definition of righteous is from Jesus’ one act of righteousness for me

…but Christs’ one act of righteousness brings a right relationship with God and a new life for everyone.  

Romans 5:18 (NKJV)

But who is the righteous?!

Pharrell b2
moi?

For He [God] made Him [Jesus] who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

2nd Corinthians 5:21

We become the righteousness of God when we accept Jesus Christ as our personal Saviour. We are given this free gift of righteousness. A gift that I declare out loud that I have and that I am to God whenever my mind tells me I am undeserving.   (I say out loud “I am the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus.” I encourage you to try it also.)

#TuesdayMotivation – Today, instead of wallowing in my defeatist thoughts and rationalising why I should feel condemned, I decided that I was going to turn to God’s Word and believe it for the absolute truth that it is, and use it to motivate me to get out this week’s mental pit.

But the path of the righteous is like the shining sun,

That shines ever brighter unto the perfect day

Proverbs 4:18

You may not believe it wholeheartedly right now. But hey, reading the verse is the first step. 👏

Today, when I read the verse I decided to change my attitude of thinking. I am confident that it sparked a change coupled with repeatedly declaring over the past couple of weeks that ‘I am the righteous of God in Christ Jesus’.

A revival of hope.

When I accepted Jesus Christ as my Personal Saviour, I was at point A. At point A, I was already so valuable to God. Valuable enough that He brings me into a right relationship with Him and guides me along this journey by drawing me closer to seek Him and do what pleases Him out of my free will. Point B is not fixed; it is I seeking, growing, and overcoming all the things that make to “shine ever brighter” until the perfect day, which is when Jesus comes to take me to my heavenly home.

Do not be deceived this is not some airy-fairy Once Upon A Time plotline. It is exactly what faith calls us to be confident in such a truth.

There are two of us on this journey, God and myself. Not me, myself and I as I have always felt even in the midst of loved ones (before He drew me near). Even when those feelings resurface, I remind myself that it is God and I, and find peace in that truth whilst in the midst of emotional and actual chaos.

Proverbs 4:18 has given me a hope. It has literally injected hope straight into my mental, affecting my attitude, feeling of self-worth, productivity levels but most importantly, renewing my faith in that I am still within reach of God’s divine help.

This truth is reiterated perfectly in John 10:28-29. Jesus is talking about us, His children.

 No one can snatch them away from me, for my Father is more powerful than anyone else. No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand.

John 10: 28-29

God is more powerful the accuser, the devil. More powerful than the condemning thoughts we have. More powerful than the accusations our mind throws at us: it feels so real, that I think it must be me honestly thinking such things, but it is the subtly of the accuser at work. This one is important – God is more powerful than us trying to Olivia Pope our own mess. So let us get into the practice of giving and surrounding to His care and might y power our worries, problems and thoughts, no matter how small or impossibly big they are. That includes me, the social media encourager

These scriptures especially John 10:28-29 are not exclusively for Christians, but for those who want to know Him. You may not have a profound feeling; it may be a fleeting thought. But I encourage you to act on it. It is actually God who draws us to Him. For me it was after I did all the things I could do because it was my life and I was in control of it: heavy drinking, getting drunk, clubbing non-stop, not taking any crap from anyone, letting my anger get to dangerous heights, having sex and believing it was fulfilling. Yet these things never fulfilled me in the long-term but I would repeat the cycle convinced there would be different results.  I do not know what specifically made me genuinely commit to a decision that I needed God. But the scripture tells me…

No one can come to Me unless the Father draws him near; and I will raise him up at the last day

John 6:44 (NKJV)

I hope that very minute snapshot of my experience will encourage you to explore the feeling that is pulling you to a higher power, a higher sense of purpose …everything that a relationship with God brings. I am still on my journey and have a loooooong way I believe. But I do not regret the decision even when I feel crap, have questioned God’s existence, the logistics of the Bible, questioned that a sinless man really chose to die for me over 2000 years ago, and have felt depleted of faith. God still holds me up and strengthens me. #SavingGrace

Fun fact: I have not been motivated to write on here but the leading of the Holy Spirit and with God’s strength, I have written 1589 words more than I planned to do this morning!

Leave a Reply

